Third edition

#81
The following day, Friday to be exact around 10:00 I received a call onmy office phone. me:” hello” caller:” good day Mrs Zuma, you are speaking to Pearl from…” me:” hi Pearl I’ve been waiting for your call” Pearl:” I can imagine, your lab results are back and Dr Khuzwayo would like to see you today” me:” at what time?” Pearl:” when will be the right time for you?” me:” after lunch, lets say 13:30” Pearl:” ok, 13:30 it is.” Me:” ok then” Pearl:” Have a nice day” me:” thanks you too” I hung up and dialled sandile’s number, even though I was eager to learn what was discovered at the lab but part of me was also dreading it. sandile:” sthandwa sami (my love)” and immediately I beam into a colgate smile, me:” hey” sandile:” talk to me” me:” I got a call from lunga’s office the results are back” sandile:” what time will you be going to see him” me:” 13:30” sandile:” ok, I will meet you there” me:” no you don’t have to come” sandile:” I want to and I will end of discussion” I sighed me:” ok, see you then bye” sandile:”bye, hey lethu” me:” mmmmm” sandile:” I love you” me:” I love you more” sandile:” bye” me:” bye” I hung up and went to see the big boss, Melanie his PA was busy on the phone. I waited for her to finish and she did. Melanie:” Lethu” me:” hi Mel, is steven in?” melanie:” yes” me:” can I steal 2 minutes of his time” melanie:” let me check with him first” me:” ok” she picked up the receiver and dialled steven up. melanie:” sir, mrs zuma is here to see you… very well sir” she hung up, melanie:” you may go through” me:” thank you” I get up from the seat I had made myself comfortable in and walk into steven’s office. Steven:” lethu to what do I owe the pleasure” me:” I would like to leave at 13:00 today” steven:” that’s fine, you could have called to save you a trip to my office” me:” I wanted to take a walk anyway” steven:” are you going away this weekend?” me:” no I have a doctors appointment at 13:30” steven:” oh I see, let me not keep you any further unless there is something else that you would like to know” I take a deep breath, me:” can I aske you something not work related” steven:” yes go ahead” me:” I remember two years ago at our end year dinner, your wife shared with us that she was cervical cancer survivor” steven:” yes she is” me:” how far along was her cancer” steven:” stage 3, she went for for radiation theraphy and chemotherapy and all the cancer cells were destroyed” me:” how long did the treatment take?” steven:” if I’m not mistaken it took about 4 to 6 weeks. That was the longest month and a half of my life.” Me:” so she is 100% cancer free” steven:” we would like to believe so because she hasn’t had a relapse as yet. We were told however that there is a possibility that some cancer cell might still have manage survive the therapy and the unfortunate part is that they will remain undetected until a relapse occur. she goes for regular screening and at the moment we can only hope that she is cancer free” me:” oh I see, thank you for your time” steven:” lethu if you don’t mind me asking why the sudden interest?” me:” my gynaecologist detected abnormal cells on my cervix and I’m meeting him today to give me the prognosis of the specimen that was sent to the lab” steven:” I’m sorry to hear that, please let me know on Monday how it goes and we will take it from there” me:” ok thank you” steven:” anytime, you know I will speak to Hilda to see if you could maybe meet and have her tell share with you how her ordeal was.” Me:” I’d appreciate that very much, thank you and enjoy your weekend” steven:” same to you and lethu I don’t see why you should hang around here any longer. you may go home now if you like” me:” thank you steven, thank you very much” I got up from my chair pushed it in and left his office. Melanie was busy n the phone again, I waved farewell at her and left. I got to my office packed my things and went home. I got home and sandile was preparing himself lunch in the kitchen and zodwa was at school. Sandile:” you’re back so early” me:” I’m enjoying the benefits of working for a reasonable boss” sandile:” I was thinking that we can fetch the girls after seeing that doctor. Is that fine with you?” me:” yes” we share his food and quickly freshened up and then we left in his car, along the way I was nervous and sandile held my hand the whole time until we got to the surgery…
#82
We got to the parking bay outside lunga’s surgery, sandile got out of the car but I remained behind. He came over to my side and opened the door. Sandile:” its time, lets go” ” I’m scared” I whisper sandile:” I know you are and I am here for you, now please come with me” I took a deep breath and got out of the car. we walked into lunga’s surgery and the place was still pack, we went to pearl who was smiling at us. Pearl:” good afternnon, the doctor is on his way. in the meantime please take a seat and make yourselves comfortable.” Sandile:” thank you” we took a seat at the back chairs and patiently waited for the good doctor. 20 minutes later he arrived, pearl:” Mrs zuma, you may go through” sandile and I get up and I take my file and we enter the consultation room. Lunga:” my favourite couple, sandile I haven’t seen you in a while. How are you?” sadile:” I’m good and you” lunga:” I cant complain, please seat down” we sat down and sandile held my hand. lunga:” lethu how are you feeling?’ me:” I’m terrified” he smiled and opened my file, lunga:” don’t be” he scanned through the paper that was attached on the file. Lunga:” the lab results came back this morning and no traces of cancer cells were found on the specimen set to the lab. However I will need you to come in for regular screening to see if this abnormal cells will develop into cancer cells and if they do you will have to undergo laser therapy but to make sure that you are 100% cancer free I would recommend you have a hysterectomy done” sandile:” but wont the laser therapy kill the cancer cells if they occur” lunga:” it does but the problem is we can never be certain that all the cells are destroyed which is why I’m recommending a hysterectomy to prevent any changes of a relapse. But at the moment you don’t have to worry about that, I was just sharing it for you to know what will be expected of you should these abnormal cells become cancer cells” me:” with that said what are my chances of not being able to conceive?” lunga:” you have a very good chances and should you fall pregnant between now and your next screening, we will do the sceening test but you will only be treated 3 months after the baby is born” sandile:” what if she wants to get laser therapy now, to remove the abnormal cells that have been already detected?” lunga:” that too can be arranged but I personally feel that she should wait until the next screening” sandile:” what do you think baby, treatment or shall we wait” lunga:” the reason I want you to wait a bit is sometimes the abnormal cells clear up by themselves, so we will do another screening in 6 months time and another in 6 months and only then can we draw up a more appropriate action plan” me:” I understand then I guess it wont hurt to wait” lunga:” yes, otherwise if you want to ask anything you know where to find me” sandile:” thank you very much” lunga:” its my pleasure” lunga and sandile shook hands and we left. I was feling much light hearted than I did when we arrived earlier. We went to fetch the girls from school and then we went to the mall to buy a few things. On our way home thembi phoned to say that she was a mere 20 minutes away, sandile gave her the directions to our home. She has never been to our home before because whenever luyah came to visit its either we would fetch him or my inlaws will bring him. when we got home I prepared some refreshments for us, we had bought some muffins and cupcakes for her since there wasn’t much I could prepare for her. zodwa took the girls for their bath and sandile helped me in the kitchen not that much needed to be done but he helped anyway. Thembi called to say she was at the gate and we let her in, the refreshments were in the lounge. I went to check n the girls quickly while sandile welcomed them in. when I got out of the girls room, luyanda came running towards me giving me a tight hug and kiss. Me:” how are you?” luyah:” I’m fine thanks, how are you?” me:” I’m good, look at how grown you look” luyah:” hawu ma you saw me two weeks ago nje” me:” I know but you are growing fast” luyah:” I have to, if I want to protect my sisters. Where are they anyway?” me:” in their room getting dressed” luyah:” ok, I will wait for them to finish before going in” me:” ok, come help me with your bags” luyah:” baba has already brought them in”…
#83
Luyah and I made our way into the lounge Thembi was sitting there by herself and sandile was nowhere in sight. Me:” hello, welcome” I went to seat on a couch opposite hers and luyanda sat beside me, thembi:” hi lethu, thank you for agreeing to see me once again” me:” please help yourself to some refreshments, what would you like to drink?” thembi:” the orange juice is fine” sandile walked in a few minutes later and sat on the same couch as luyah and myself. Sandile:” so how have you been” thembi:” good thanks, these muffins are devine. did you make these leh?” me:” no, we bought them” thembi:” oh, they are delicious nonetheless” sandile:” luyah go to your sisters” luyanda got up and disappeared along the passage. Sandile:” so what is this about?” thembi:” luyanda” sandile:” what about him? don’t tell me you want me to pay more than I already am for him” thembi:” no, not at all. Here’s the thing, I have been given a once in a lifetime opportunity to work and study abroad for the next 3 years or so. This is a dream come true for me and I really want to go, but my main concern is leaving luyanda behind. I cant leave him with my parents or my siblings” sandile:” so you want him to come and live with us” thembi:” yes, I know I refused once to many times whenever you asked me to allow him to come and stay with you and I think now is the time to have him” sandile:” if you weren’t going abroad would you have allowed him to stay with us?” thembi:” to be honest with you sandile I have been toying around with this idea for a while now, even way before the accident but I decided against it when you got injured. I didbt want to add another child to this household, because truth be told. When you were still in the process of recovering you too were a child. So what do you say are you going to take him in?” sandile:” that’s not my decision to make, leh baby what do you say?” me:” when are you leaving?” thembi:” at the beginning of December, lethu I think you will agree with me when I say luyah is a good kid and well mannered, rest assured that he will not cause any trouble” me:” thembi you don’t have to sell him out to me, I know how he is. At the moment the biggest challenge that we will be faced with is finding him a school” sandile:” I was thinking the same thing” thembi:” so you will take him in?” sandile looked at me and I nodded, sandile” I don’t see why not” thembi:” thank you and about the school, I think if we all put our heads together we will find a school for him. “ me:” I hope so” sandile:” so have you told him that you are leaving soon” thembi:” yes and he seems excited for me” sandile:” how often are you planning to come back?” thembi:” at this very moment I am not sure, I will see when I get to that side” sandile:” ok, all the best” thembi:” and another thing I needed to talk to you about, the house” sandile:” what about it?” thembi:” I’m thinking of selling it, what do you think?” sandile:” I don’t know why you are asking me about it” thembi:” that was our home that’s why I’m asking you” sandile:” that house is yours, I even changed the ownership deed its under your name. s what you decide to do with it is entirely up to you” thembi:” ok, then I guess that I will sell it” sandile:” if that is what you want, go ahead” thembi:” ok, thank you for agreeing to take him in” sandile:” you don’t have to thank us, this is his home too” thembi:” I should leave, lethu thank you for the refreshments” me:” its my pleasure” she got up and so did sandile and I, thembi:” where is luyanda I want to tell him that I’m leaving now” sandile:” I will get him for you” he went along looking for luyanda while I saw thembi out. thembi:” you know lethu, we may not be the best of friends but I admire you a lot. My son adores you and i think you are a remarkable woman” me:” wow, that means a lot coming from you. thank you” thembi:” there is no doubt in my mind that luyanda will enjoy staying with his siblings. I just wish things could be different” me:” different how?” thembi:” I’m getting married in December lethu and my fiancé wants nothing to do with luyah, hence my move abroad” me:”what?” thembi:” you heard me right”…
#84
Me:” and the studying?” thembi:” that is part and parcel of the marriage package. I’m tired of being alone and when I met zamo everything fell into place and I got a slice of true happiness” me:” even if it means cutting ties with your son?” thembi:” I’m not entirely cutting ties with him, I just cant have him live with us that’s all” me:” does zamo have any kids?” thembi:” yes, two and they will be staying with us in London” me:” am I missing something here?” thembi:” zamo adores his kids and he said he cant live them behind” me:” but he expects you to leave your son?” thembi:” its not as bad as it sounds” I sighed, me:” if you say so. I wish you everything of the best” thembi:” thank you” me:” but why didn’t you just tell us the truth” thembi:” but I did” me:” only half of it” thembi:” I don’t want sandile to think that I’m a bad mother who is living her son behind to continue a family with another man.” Me:” I hear you” “ma, ma” we turn and see luyanda running towards us and we are standing beside thembi’s car. thembi:” I’m leaving now khehla be good ok” luyanda:” ok” they hugged and kissed. She got into her car, thembi:” thank you once again” me:” anytime” luyanda and I stood on the driveway as she reversed out of the yard and drove off. luyand and I went back inside the house, sandile was standing at the door way waiting for us. Luyanda went to his sisters while sandile and I cleared the coffee table. Sandile:” so what were you and thembi talking about?” me:” her trip” sandile:” really? Cause luyanda has just told me that she is getting married in December.” Me:” oh yes she shared that bit of information too” sandile:” mmmmm, are we invited” me:” I don’t know, you will have to ask her” sandile:” I’m happy for her, she deserves to be happy too” me:” I know, you are so thoughtful” sandile:” its one of those bad habits that I picked up from you” he pulled me towards him and our lips locked into a sweet, gentle and refreshing kiss. We prepared supper and enjoyed our meal as a complete family. After our meal the kids went to sleep and sandile and I went to the study for our meditation. We have learnt to take each day as a gift and we appreciate  and give thanks to the Lord for being with us even at our darkest hour. Even though I was feeling less anxious about the cervical cancer possibility but at the back of my head the thought still lingers like a thief in the night. We got in the study and closed the door and made ourselves comfortable on the floor using cushions for comfort. Sandile:” I know you its your turn to share the scripture reading with me but baby please allow me to do the honours” me:” its fine” sandile:” are you ready?” me:” give it to me boo” he let off a chuckle, sandile:” don’t tease me baby” I stuck my tongue out at him and he threw one of the cushions at me. me:” lets be serious please” he unlocked his iPad and opened the bible app, he looked at me and I gave him the nod Sandile:” I will be reading – Colossians 3:15-17 – ‘AND LET THE PEACE OF CHRIST RULE IN YOUR HEARTS, TO WHICH INDEED YOU WERE CALLED IN ONE BODY. AND BE THANKFUL. LET THE WORD OF CHRIST DWELL IN YOU RICHLY, TEACHING AND ADMONISHING ONE ANOTHER IN ALL WISDOM, SINGING PSLAMS AND HYMNS AND SPIRITUAL SONGS WITH THANKFULNESS IN YOUR HEARTS TO GOD. AND WHATEVER YOU DO, IN WORD OR DEED, DO EVERYTHING IN THE NAME OF THE LORD JESUS, GIVING THANKS TO GOD THE FATHER THROUGH HIM’ – may your word guide us and bring us the peace that we seek everyday. May our understanding be guided by you and may our hearts reflect the gratitude that we have towards you Father, amen” me:” amen” we remained silent for quiet a while, I silently said my own prayer. Some time later I opened my eyes and I saw sandile with his eyes closed was in tears, I crawled to him and threw my arms around him and he did the same. I pulled back and wiped away his tears. sandile:” you are the best thing that has ever happened to me and I honestly don’t know what I would do should I loose you. when you told me about the abnormal cells I died lethu” me:” but you held it together” sandile:” I had to for you, but I was really scared” me:” we will be fine”…
#85
Sandile:” I know that, but cancer is just too much” me:” there is no cancer, so let not worry about it and if it does happen that the cells don’t vanish on their own I will get treatment and life will move on” sandile:” you know, you can call me selfish or whatever but I prayed that should the Lord decide to call us home that he should start with me” me:” you are really selfish” sandile:” you are a strong woman and I know that you will keep this family together and eventually life will go on” me:” can we not talk about this” sandile:” fine, I love you always remember that” me:” I love you too” sandile:” now lets go to bed” we got up and first had a bath before going to bed. the following morning we woke up had breakfast, had a bath and went out to the beach. Our whole morning was spent there. Around noon we went to visit zandi and phumlani. When we got there lindani and swazi’s car was parked outside. we got out of the car and went inside, the kids remained outside with zodwa and went to join asanda and the twins. phumlani was welcomed us inside, phumlani:” sho brazo” they shoulder bumped sandile:” howsit?” phumlani:” good, lethu. How are you mfazi ka mfuwethu (my brother’s wife)?” we hugged, we walked to the lounge. Phumlani:” look what the cat dragged in” swazi:” oh my goodness leh its so good to see you” we hugged, me:” when did you come back?” swazi:” about 3 days ago” lindani:” lethu” me:” hi, its great to see you” lindani:” likewise” me:” mummy, how are we doing?” zandi:” we are getting there slowly but surely hey” swazi:” at least you have your mother to assist you” zandi:” thank God for that” zandi’s mum brought in some refreshments, zandi:” lets go to the kitchen I want to talk to the both of you” we made our way to the kitchen and sat on the bar stools there. Zandi:” so as you both know that my wedding was scheduled for November” me:” was?” zandi:” hold your horses leh and let me finish” zandi:” phumlani and I have decided to move the date to….” she paused and looked at us, swazi:” don’t tell us next year” zandi:” to the first Saturday of September” me:” you’re joking right?” zandi:” no I’m not” swazi:” that’s like a month away, how will you ever pull this off? unless if you are planning to go to Home Affairs?” zandi:” no, ladies that is where you two come in. you will help me plan this wedding” me:” you cant be serious? where will we get a venue at such short notice and then there is the dress, the cake, décor, food, need I say more” swazi:” I’m just exhausted thinking about it” zandi:” relax tu, the venue is sorted as well as the cake and catering” me:” oh, where will it be?” zandi:” here” swazi:” as in here, here?” zandi:” yep, we have found a guy who will transform our back yard into a fairytale and his company also does catering and he said he will throw in the wedding cake of our choice for free” me:” wow, I’m impressed” swazi:” how many people are you planning to invite?” zandi:” just close friends and famiy, I don’t think our guests will exceed 150 people and we are not hearing this invite a friend who will invite his friend and so forth and so forth. It will be strictly close friends and family” me:” ok, have you found a dress?” zandi:” that is where you come in, I need the two of you to help me dress hunting and while at it search for your own bridesmaids dresses and leh I would like you to be my maid of honour” me:” wow, I’d like that very much” swazi:” how many brides maids are planning to have?” zandi:” 3, it will be my baby sister, anele and you swazi and one last think lethu in case I forget please tell xoli to bring her family as well” me:” will do” zandi:” so what do you say ladies, will you help me?” me:” of course” swazi:” yeah sure” zandi:” I’m so happy I could dance” “ zandi, ndumiso needs to be fed” we turn and see zandi’s mother carrying baby Ndu and bringing him to his mother. Zandi takes him and breast feed him, zandi:” why didn’t anyone tell me how painful breastfeeding is” me:” it gets better with time, you will see” zandi:” swazi how was your 2 weeks vacation with Mr man?” swazi:” it was the best thing ever, we needed this vacation to rekindle our love especially after… no never mind”…
#86
We looked at her puzzled, me:” after what?” swazi:” no its nothing” she looked away. zandi”s mum:” excuse me girls” she left the kitchen. zandi:” you cant start something and leave us hanging like that” she sighed, swazi:” ok here goes, a few months ago I had a miscarriage” me:”I’m sorry to hear that” zandi:” sorry sisi” swazi:” thanks ladies, when I lost the baby lindani and I were not in good terms. I had been snooping around on his phone and found a flirty message from his ex, they had run into each other somewhere and she was going on about how good he still looks after so many years and that if he ever wants to meet he is welcome to call her” me:” oh crap” swazi:” what?” me:” the other day I had a dream where sandile got back with his ex and things just went crazy and at the end he shot me. the dream was so real, it was scary” swazi:” you need to find the root of the meaning of that dream” zandi:” you guys are getting carried away, a dream is a dream and it doesn’t mean that you will live your dream. Wena leh you need to take the chill pill and not let your dream bother you” me:” its doesn’t I’m only raising it now because of what swazi’s was saying” swazi:” anyway, he was bathing when I saw that message when he came out, I confronted him about it and obviously he denied having any interest at her. so I demanded he call her and he did putting her on loud speaker and she answered ‘ hey baby I knew you wouldn’t be able to keep away’ I slapped him so hard, my arm felt like it was dislocated” me:” you slapped him” zandi:” lawd no” swazi:” yes I did, I’m not proud of what I did” zandi:” I can imagine the shock afterwards” swazi:” the thing is I was really upset and what hurt the most is hearing her call him baby whereas he had said he wants nothing to do with her and he doesn’t know how her number ended up on his phone.” me:” that’s hectic” swazi:” he ended the call and we argued about it and the slap, he was really angry and I don’t thing I had ever seen him that angry. He wanted to storm out of the room and I kept blocking him still shouting at him from the top of my voice, while he kept quiet and just wanted to leave and I wouldn’t hear of it. so while I continued being an annoying chatter box” I chuckled me:” an annoying chatter box?” swazi:” yes oe” she starts laughing too, swazi:” so anyway he pushed me aside and stormed off. you have to bear in mind that I wasn’t even aware that I was pregnant at the time. He slept in the guest room and I slept alone and that went on for almost a week. And during that time I had cramps but I ignored them until one evening after supper the cramps got so severe I started bleeding. Lindani rushed me to the hospital and the doctor confirmed that I had just lost my baby and suspected being under a lot of stress as the culprit” zandi:” I hope you have made peace with it” swazi:” I’m working on that, I blamed him and he blamed me. but at the end we both realised that the blame game was just not on and we weren’t moving anywhere.” Me:” but why didn’t you say something?” swazi:” where would I begin and plus it not easy talking about such things.” Me:” I know exactly what you mean.” Zandi:” what are we missing here leh?” me:” I once got the mother of all slaps from sandile, I couldn’t believe it” swazi:” damn, what happened?” me:” long story short we had an quarrel that ended with me being slapped” zandi:” tjo phumlani and I have never been physical with each other, but our argument usual end up with me sulking for days. I’m talking about silent treatment even over the phone. he would cal and I’d answer but not say a single word. He’d send an sms and I would respond with a blank one to let him know I got it” me:” a blank text, nice.” Swazi:” I think I will use that too. Anyway the vacation was everything and more that I could ever hope for and most importantly we are back on the happily in-love tip” me:” I’m glad” “ ladies sorry to intrude, swazi a moment please” swazi got up and followed her husband. I took Ndu from his mother placed him on my shoulder, gently rubbing his back until he burbed. We stayed an hour or so longer before heading home. On our way my phone rang and I searched for it in my purse…
#87
Me:” hello” “ hi, leh are you home? I’m here to fetch sothando” me:” you were suppose to do that yesterday” sanele:” I know and I’m sorry about that, I got held up at work” me:” we are on our way home, I will talk to you when we get there” we got home and sanele’s car was parked outside and he followed us in when we drove in. I helped the kids out of the car, sothando ran to her father, luyanda and zodwa went inside while sandile, myself and uluthando went to sanele and sothando. Sanele:” hello zuma” sandile:” duma, how are you?” sanele:” beside the usual I’m good. I came for my princess” sandile:” ok, girls lets go inside” sothando wiggled out of sanele’s arms and followed sandile and uluthando inside the house. Me:” I cant believe you” sanele:” I said I’m sorry” me:” but you could have called to say you weren’t coming” sanele:” I’m sorry leh, so can I have her? I will bring her back tomorrow afternoon” me:” ok, next time please inform me if you aren’t going to make it” sanele:” yes ma’am” we walked into the house and he went to the lounge to join sandile and the kids and I went to fetch sothando’s things. When I got back he took the things to his car and sandile and I saw sothando out. me:” drive safely please” sanele:” I always do” sandile:” it was great seeing you, bye baby” sothando:” bye baba” he hugged and kissed her, I did the same. Me:” behave nana” sothando:” ok” me:” I love you” sothando:” love you too” she got in the car and into her car seat and I secured it and they left. Sandile and I went inside the house, zodwa was bathing uluthando. Luyanda was watching cartoons, when sandile and I came in the lounge he got up from the floor and came to sit beside me and leaning against me. luyah:” mama” me:” ja boy” luyah:” is it true what my mother told me, that I will be staying here next year” me:” yes” luyah:” yesssss, which school will I go to?” me:” we are not sure yet” luyah:” ok, may I have some chips please?” me:” yes you may sweety” sandile:” I will get them, do you need anything from the kitchen leh?” me:” no” sandile went for the chips and a while later returned, uluthando joined us. we  had bought take aways that just needed to be reheated for supper, after supper we went to bed. the following morning I got up had a quick shower, went to prepare breakfast, woke luyah up to bath while zodwa did the same with uluthando and when we returned to the dining room sandile was already there and he too had had his bath. We had breakfast, afterwards helped zodwa clear the table and went to get dressed. at 09:00 we left home for church, arriving there just on time. The church choir was giving off some great gospel melody until our pastor took to the podium. Pastor:” good morning” “morning” chanted the congregation pastor:” today is such a beautiful day don’t you think? This is the 3rd day of women’s month and we should us this time and every other day to celebrate the women in our lives, our mothers, sisters, wives and daughters. It has come to my attention that Mrs Mavus one of our church elders is grimly ill and I would like us join hands in prayer for her to get well and for every other soul that needs physical and spiritual healing. There is a trait that I have picked up from a number of people who have pained me a visit, more especially those who have ill family members or friends. They all fear loosing their loved ones and I feel we are looking at this the wrong way. when our Father decides to call home one of his children there isn’t much that we can do, in fact we should be spending time ensuring that our paths a straight and that our journey will lead us to his throne. John 5:24 says ‘TRULY TRULY, I SAY TO YOU, WHOEVER HEARS MY WORD AND BELIEVES HIM WHO SENT ME HAS ETERNAL LIFE. HE DOES NOT COME INTO JUDGEMENT, BUT HAS PASSED FROM DEATH TO LIFE’ and then Roman 10:13 says ‘ FOR “ EVERYONE WHO CALLS ON THE NAME OF THE LORD WILL BE SAVED” that’s all that is required call on Him, find comfort in Him. I don’t know when my last day on this earth is, and this is why I’m preparing for that day now. I want to be ready when my time comes…” he took a sip out of his bottled water…
#88
Then looked around the congregation before bursting into song “ …mabala onke nkosi yami, awuncolis’umoya wami, ngihlanze namhlanje ungenze ngikufuze…” this song does so much to me, everbody sang along and through my tears I sang, through my own fears I found comfort, through my little understanding I surrendered it all to Him. pastor:” the day my Father calls me, on the day of my sending off. I would like the choir to sing this song and I do not want a single tear shed, I want you to rejoice for I will be sitting at my father’s feet, amen… as we are about to pray please let us not forget to pray for our brothers and sisters who need physical and spiritual healing, let us close our eyes” after our prayer, the pastor requested the choir to sing ‘his’ song once more, the offering baskets yet around and after the announcements there was a final prayer session and we left. We had lunch, then went home for luyanda’s things. We left zodwa behind to wait for sothando because we had to take luyanda back to port shepston and we were not sure what time sanele will bring her back. When we got to Thembi’s home, the place was busy she had visitor. I think it was one of those chill sessions. when we pulled up at her driveway she saw us and came to us, thembi:” sandile and family welcome, can I get you anything to drink?” sandile:” no thanks” thembi:” hello kehla, take your bag in” luyanda did as instructed, thembi:” lethu come give me a hug, oh and I would like you to meet someone, let me go and find him I will be back in a flash” she runs off, me:” is she…” sandile:” I’m afraid so” me:” I just hope she wont wake up with a terrible hang over tomorrow morning” sandile:” i hate leaving luyanda with her like this. I’m thinking of taking him to my parents just for the night” me:” that’s a good idea but will she agree?” sandile:” she is drunk lethu, whether she agrees or not I don’t care but all I know is luyanda cannot stay here this evening” me:” I hear you” she returns with a medium height guy who is not an eye candy but who am I to judge. They do say ‘ubuhle bendoda zinkomo zayo ( a man’s beauty lies with his wealth)’ and not forgetting ‘beauty is in the eyes of the beholder’. When they get closer I realise that the guy is not so bad looking he just requires some time to get used to. thembi:” baby I want you to meet my ex-husband and his wife. sandile and lethu this is zamo my fiancée” sandile looks at me then looks away, me:” its our pleasure to meet you” zamo:” likewise, why don’t you two come in and have a few drinks with us” sandile:” no thanks maybe next time” thembi:” you use to be so much fun but now, aarg you’re such a bore” zamo:” its was good to see you, please excuse me” he gives thembi a peck on the cheek then walks off. sandile:” thembi I’m taking luyanda to my parents, you can fetch him tomorrow after school” thembi:” why?” sandile:” he just cant stay here tonight, not when you are this…” thembi:” I’m not drunk, just tipsy” sandile:” I’m taking him end of discussion” thembi:” ok suit yourself, let me go get him” she disappeared into the house and came back a few minutes later with luyanda and his bags. Luyanda got inside the car and we left for my in-laws house. We got to the zuma household and Freda opened the front door for us and led us to the lounge where mum nonku was sitting. Sandile:” afternoon ma” mum nonku:” hello my babies, someone is missing, where is sothando?” me:” sanele has her” mum nonku:” ok anyway how are you?” she gave us hugs and kisses. Sandile:” we are good” mum nonku:” but why didn’t you tell me you were coming? And why so late?” sandile:” it was a last minute thing” mum nonku:” oh I see, Freda!” Freda came in mum nonku:” please take the kids and bring us something to drink” Freda:” yes sisi, come along kids” uluthando and luyanda followed her. sandile:” ma can luyanda stay here for the night?” mum nonku:” yes of course. But do you mind me aking why you are not taking him to his mother?” sandile:” we are coming from there and she has friends over, I just don’t want him to witness the commotion going on there” mum nonku:” oh I see, whats the plan for tomorrow?” sandile:” please take him to school and she will fetch him from there” mum nonku:” ok, that’s fine.” Sandle:” thank you” Freda came in with our refreshments and afterwards we left…
#89
We got home and sothando was already there sleeping, we did the usual routine then we went to bed. the following days that went by were spent with back and forth calls between swazi, zandi and myself. Searching online for zandi’s ‘short notice’ perfect dress, at least we were not stressed about ours because this was zandi’s day and she is the one that should shine bright like a diamond. By Friday afternoon we had found a bridal boutique around Durban that had a dress that she liked, we had made an appointment and the store manager agreed to see us first thing Saturday morning. On Saturday morning I woke up early prepared breakfast and had a quick bath, when everybody got up we ate and I left. We met at the boutique and made our way inside, zandi was specific and she knew exactly what she wanted and that helped a lot. “ Good morning my name is Leonie Jones, how can I help you?” zandi:” hi, we spoke a few days ago I’m the last minute bride zandi…” leonie:” oh yes I remember” zandi:” and these are my friends and bridesmaids swazi and lethu” leonie:” its nice to meet you all” swazi:” likewise” leonie:” lets get back to business, what are we looking for? We have two new dresses that arrived yesterday. They are beautiful and elegant and I think they would look really nice on you. but before I show you, what did you have in mind?” zandi:” I want something ruched simple but sophisticated with not a lot of detail gown” leaonie:” ok please come through and I will show you what we have got that fits your style” she led us through to the back where there is a huge couch and she disappeared appearing later with 3 dresses. The first one was a v-neck and back tank top with ruched midriff wedding gown, it was cute and zandi didn’t like it. the second one was a strapless sweetheart ruched gown with lace applique and corset tie back, it was really cute, I liked it better than the first one but our bride was still not impressed. Leonie showed us the last dress, it was a one piece corset strapless slim A-line with chapel length train gown. Modified mermaid skirt with a dropped waist and has a slight sweetheart neckline and ruched midriff. Zandi:” that’s my dress” leonie:” are you sure” zandi:” yes, its everything and more that I had in mind. Can I try it on” leonie:” yes you may, please come this way” she led zandi to the dressing room and a while later she emerged looking as beautidul as ever. Zandi:” so what do you guys think?” me:” stunning, I’m sure when phumlani sees you in that he will fall in-love with you all over again” swazi:” true” zandi:” you think? I just love it. I wish I could take it home with me now” we took a few snap shots of her in her dream gown, the dress sat well on her it needed a few alterations on the torso area. She went to change back into her clothes while swazi and I decided to go through the bridesmaids dresses that were there. My phone rang it was anele, me:” hello” anele:” hi sisi are you still at the bridal shop?” me:” yes, where are you?” anele:” I’m a few minutes away, see you shortly bye” me:” bye” zandi came back, swazi:” which colour should we look at?” zandi:” olive green but I also like purple” me:” between the two which one should we go for?” zandi:” please give me a second to think” anele:” think about what?” zandi:” finally yo decide to show up?” anele:” sorry I over slept, anyway hello sis’swazi” swazi:” hey baby girl, how are you?” anele:” I’m super thanks, sis’ leh you know mos” she gaves me a nod and wink, me:” how can I not” that was her way of greeting me. anele:” so what did I miss?” zandi:” I’ve found my dress now you three need to decide on which dresses you want” anele:”ok, where do we start? Can we show some flesh ladies please. Nothing long sis’leh you have to show them legs and sis’swazi there is nothing wrong with showing some cleavage.” Me:” why am I suddenly terrified of the dress you will pick” anele:” relax sisi, I’ve got this” leonie:” ladies do you need any help?” anele:” I’m looking for something short and sexy” leonie:” I’ve got just what you want” she disappeared and came back with three dresses, the first was a short strapless lace dress, the second a one shoulder satin short dress and the last a sleeveless short mesh dress…

24 thoughts on “Third edition”

  1. So does dis mean u wil publish a novel Leh? Since now you have went to a higher level of ur writing.
    #remember I’m ur numba1 fan* 😉

    Like

  2. Thank God ur ohk my mom also had cervical cancer but was cleared 10 yrs ago she is fine..@lst Sandile wil hv a partner in crime whn Luyah comes..thnks lala

    Like

  3. hi..sis leh. I am really enjoying this keep it up. May God abundantly bless you and your family, through this diary I hv learnt a lot.. life has got challenges bt we need to stand firm and surrender all unto thee.. thanks a lot once again.

    Like

  4. Wow Leh this was a meal and a half. U can satisfy woman. I hope I’m not the only one who knows that you posting here. Much love for you and the girls

    Like

Leave a comment